Ex-CJP Nasir-ul-Mulk named caretaker Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Ex-CJP Nasir-ul-Mulk has been selected as the caretaker prime minister who will assume the office upon the expiry of the tenure of PML-N government on May 31.After several rounds of talks between Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Opposition Leader Khursheed Shah, two sides achieved the breakthrough.

The announcement was made in a press conference jointly addressed by PM Abbasi, Speaker Ayaz Sadiq, Khursheed Shah and Information Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb at the Parliament House.Reacting to the announcement, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf hailed the nomination of the ex-CJP who also headed the commission who investigated the rigging allegations in 2013 polls.

Talking to Geo News, PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry said the former CJP is very well aware of the issues in election process and has suggested recommendations.Talking to the press, Abbasi said it was a difficult decision as all names were credible but former CJP’s was selected on merit after taking the political leadership into confidence.

The PM thanked the opposition leader and Pakistan Peoples’ Party for agreeing to his nominee. “It’s a name no one can point fingers at,” he added.Shah credited the NA speaker for playing a major role in both parties reaching an agreement. “The person is very respectable one,” he saidThe opposition leader and PM Abbasi have met six times prior to today’s meeting but no consensus reached on the name for the position of caretaker premier.

The current government is expected to conclude its five-year term on May 31, after which the caretaker government will take over to hold the general elections, which are expected to be held in the last week of July or the first week of August.The caretaker prime minister will lead the interim set-up and attend to day-to-day matters of governance.

The PM had earlier said “No” to the PPP’s panel, which included the names of Jalil Abbas Jillani, Salim Abbas Jillani and Zaka Ashraf. Sources said that Abbasi, while conveying his “No” to Khursheed Shah last Monday, asked the leader of the opposition either to come up with some new names or accept one of the three names recommended by him.

The prime minister’s panel includes the names of Justice (retd) Nasirul Mulk, Justice (retd) Tassaduq Jillani and Ms Shamshad Akhtar.




No.of Reads (89)


A light Year Ahead News Source.